Muncie Fire Merit Commission

January 14, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 6:00pm by President Dale Basham

Members Present: Vice President Joe Greer, President Dale Basham, Andrew Dale, Secretary Jim Mochal. Others present: Chief David Miller, Attorney Mark Ervin, Recording Secretary Samara Williams. **Not Present:** John Bailey.

Approval of December 10, 2020 minutes: Moved by Joe Greer, seconded by Andrew Dale and accepted with unanimous vote.

Election of Officers – Motion made by Joe Greer for the 2021 roster to remain consistent to the 2020 roster. Seconded by Jim Mochal, with unanimous vote to accept.

2021 Scheduled Fire Merit Meeting – Motion to accept the 2021 Fire Merit Calendar/Meetings made by Andrew Dale and seconded by Joe Greer, passed by unanimous vote.

Business from Fire Chief, David Miller:

12 Month Evaluations and Permanent Members of Muncie Fire Department – 12 month evaluations for Jason Stinson, Michael Lehman Daniel Lambert and Drayk Duncan were read and all concluded as outstanding. Motion made by Joe Greer to make Jason Stinson, Michael Lehman, Daniel Lambert and Drayk Duncan permanent and full members of Muncie Fire Department; seconded by Jim Mochal and passed by unanimous vote.

Citation of Heroism – Recommended by Battalion Chief Terry Moore for the acts of heroism on the structural fire with the removal of a civilian *at 1127 South Shipley Ave., Muncie, Indiana on November 30th 2020.* The Citation of Heroism was given to Fire Fighter Ryan Granger, Caleb Payzant, Patrick Sheller and Heartland Paramedic Eric Moore for their performance and professionalism. Chief Miller expressed and acknowledged their prompt and efficient actions. Battalion Chief Terry Moore spoke his gratitude for his battalion and the unit whom helped during the call. Donald Potter, Melinda Webb, Daniel Burford, Charles Casada, Patrick O'brian, Eddie Bell, Daniel Powell, Kelly Morey, Craig Nuckols, Jason Stinson and Adam Heyerly were all commended on their efforts.

Business from President, Dale Basham:

Certifications – Certifications of accomplishments were presented by President, Dale Basham. Muncie Fire Personnel whom certificates presented for were: Brayden Fields, Jennay Jackson, Cullen Taflinger, Garret Winget, Kevin Holland, Ryan McAllister, Timothy Woods, Jacob Sprong, Jordan Dulaney, Ethan Chafin, Ben Renz, Robert Mead, Bryan Cook, Daniel Ninde, Drayk Duncan, Troy Dulaney, Dakota Riggins, and Michael Lehman. – Comments made by: BC Terry Moore as he congratulated and commended the rookies for their certificate achievements.

Proposed Amendment, Muncie Fire Merit Commission by Laws – Tabled until next meeting; held on February 11, 2021.

Muncie Fire Merit Commission

January 14, 2021

Other Business:

Andrew Dale proposed that the Fire Merit Commission meeting minutes be made publicized on the City of Muncie's web page. Andrew Dale also inquired about the promotions and when to expect the next promotional process to start. Chief Miller explained that contact has been made with the testing company regarding promotions and still awaiting pricing and study material information. Troy Dulaney asked the time frame for the promotions and when they may start. Chief Miller, again explained once the information from the testing company is received department battalions will be made aware of the definite process. BC Terry Moore expressed his concerns of not having enough Captains testing for the Battalion Chiefs position and explained the actions in which Chief Miller and Deputy Chief Richards can take if this does occur. Troy Dulaney had concerns on the policies regarding Lieutenants and their ability to test for the Battalion Chief position.

Business from Mark Ervin - None

Motion to adjourn made by President, Dale Basham at 6:30pm, seconded by Vice President Joe Greer, with unanimous vote to accept.